Sleep Disorder

I rarely sleep through the night.
Sometimes once, mostly twice…
I wake up and check the clock.
If I must, I run to the bathroom as quick as a racehorse
and then scuttle back to bed.
I’m fast asleep by the time I close my eyes again.
Some nights I hate it. Sometimes it’s what I most look forward to.
To sleep is when my brain is really off.
To wake is to realize I’ve been sleeping.
When I’m most tired, I fantasize about a night with 6 or 7 wake up calls,
just so the clock will let me lie back down.
It’s when there’s only one sleep that I feel like I’ve slept the least.
February 20, 2013

Leave a Reply

